TYLA State Moot Court Competition Champions

1975 — University of Texas School of Law Susan Combs, John Nelson, and Charles Oliver

1976 — Baylor University School of Law Leonard E. Davis, Sidney A. Fitzwater, and Kirk B. Purcell

> 1977 — University of Texas School of Law Kelley K. Beck, Gary L. Buckwalter, and Barbara Radnofsky

1978 — Southern Methodist University School of Law Brian D. Melton, Cindy M. Ohlenforst, and Gordon M. Shapiro

1979 — Baylor University School of Law Donald F. Lively, Ken Patterson, and Robert T. Rhodes

1980 — St. Mary's University School of Law John W. McChristian, Jr., Shelton Smith, and Lisa Vance

1981 — South Texas College of Law Diantha J. Garrett, Neil McCabe, and Lyn McClellan

1982 — University of Houston Law Center Elena F. Dhorio, Patricia J. Kerrigan, and Robyn S. Rothman

1983 — South Texas College of Law Devon Decker, Paige Pace, and Jeff Rusk

1984 — South Texas College of Law Richard Hogan, Jr., Vickie Martin, and Paige Pace

1985 — South Texas College of Law Terrie Gerlich, Richard Hogan, Jr., and Mike Martin

1986 — St. Mary's University School of Law Philip Kazen, Richard Shreves, and William Taylor

1987 — South Texas College of Law Richard Laminack, Kathy Martinez, and Trace Sherer

1988 — Baylor University School of Law Cynthia Anne Leiferman and Susan I. Nelson

1989 — St. Mary's University School of Law Ricky Poole, Tony Schaffer, and Victoria Valerga

1990 — University of Texas School of Law Annette Davis, Greg Reed, and Lonnie Roach

1991 — South Texas College of Law Sean Breen, Rob Galloway, and Shelly Van Natter

1992 — University of Houston Law Center Mary Angela Graham, Perry McConnell, and Jim Perdue

> 1993 — Baylor University School of Law Mike Schoen, Lori Weems, and Susan Young

1994 — University of Houston Law Center David Comeaux, Colleen Faddick, and Barbara Schnitzler

1995 — Baylor University School of Law Kimberly Loving, Neil Smith, and Celeste Yeager

1996 — South Texas College of Law Melina Cain, Martha Guice, and Christopher Nease 1997 — Texas Tech University School of Law Sally Gary, Patricia Nellenbach, and Rosalyn Peacock

1998 — South Texas College of Law Kevin Cain, Brent Cordell, and Twila Baker

1999 — Baylor University School of Law Amy O'Malley, Amber Slayton, and Ashlea Vogler

2000 — South Texas College of Law 1978 — Southern Methodist University School of Law *Robert W. Cowan, Ann E. Johnson, and Mark A. Junell*

> 2001 — South Texas College of Law Natalie C. Koehler, Rene' M. Sigman, and Michael F. Westbrook

2002 — St. Mary's University School of Law Rebecca Copeland, Monica Galvan, and Tina Campbell Harris

2003 — South Texas College of Law Inger M. Hampton, J. Daniel Johnson, and Kyle R. Watson

2004 — South Texas College of Law Nicole James, Taneka Johnson, and Paige Woodard

2005 — South Texas College of Law Angela N. Hamilton, David E. Harris, and Karl W. Seelbach

2006 — St. Mary's University School of Law Kimberly M. Phillips, Alison Hicks, and Halina Radchenko

2007 — Texas Wesleyan School of Law Melissa Swan, Johannes Walker, and Matthew Wright

2008 — Texas Tech University School of Law Graigory Fancher, Matthew Luensmann, and Erin Welch

2009 — Texas Tech University School of Law Vanessa Burgess, Rickie Cayton, and Mark Erickson

2010 — South Texas College of Law Zachary Bowman, Jennifer Schuch, and Andrew Nelson

2011 — University of Houston Law Center Seth Gagliardi, Patrick McKee, and Jameson Watts

2012 — Baylor University School of Law Morgan Harkins and Taylor Romero

2013 — Texas Tech University School of Law Braden Brown, Jamee Cotton, and Tanner Hartnett

2014 — Baylor University School of Law Mark Altman, Jess Dees, and Jacqueline Hamer

2015 — South Texas College of Law Jennifer Bonds, Kyrie Cameron, and Taylor FitzGerrell

2016 – Texas Tech University School of Law C.J. Baker, Shelby Hall, and Kristen Vander-Plas

2017 – Texas Tech University School of Law Erin Garza, Jason Judd and Brandon King



2018 State Moot Court Competition



Marriott Marquis Houston, Texas June 19-21, 2018

TYLA State Moot Court Competition 2018 Schedule of Events

Bailiffs' Meeting

8:00-8:30 a.m.	Teams Check-in

8:15 a.m.

Chambers B

Chambers A

TUESDAY, JUNE 19, 2018

9:00 a.m. Preliminary Round I

Fort Bend A	Team 1	v.	Team 2
Fort Bend B	Team 8	v.	Team 3
Montgomery A	Team 7	v.	Team 4
Montgomery B	Team 6	v.	Team 9

11:00 a.m. Preliminary Round II

Team 3v.Team 4Fort Bend ATeam 1v.Team 7Fort Bend BTeam 8v.Team 6Montgomery ATeam 2v.Team 9Montgomery B

2:30 p.m. Preliminary Round III

Team 6	v.	Team 2	Fort Bend A
Team 7	v.	Team 8	Fort Bend B
Team 4	v.	Team 1	Montgomery A
Team 9	v.	Team 3	Montgomery B

4:30 p.m. Preliminary Round IV

Team 7	v.	Team 6	Fort Bend A
Team 8	v.	Team 4	Fort Bend B
Team 2	v.	Team 3	Montgomery A
Team 9	v.	Team 1	Montgomery B

WEDNESDAY, JUNE 20, 2018 9:00 a.m. Preliminary Round V

Team 1	v.	Team 3	Fort Bend A
Team 2	v.	Team 8	Fort Bend B
Team 4	v.	Team 6	Montgomery A
Team 9	v.	Team 7	Montgomery B

11:00 a.m. Preliminary Round VI

Team 3	v.	Team 7	Fort Bend A
Team 8	v.	Team 9	Fort Bend B
Team 2	v.	Team 4	Montgomery A
Team 1	v.	Team 6	Montgomery B

2:30 p.m. Preliminary Round VII

Team 7	v.	Team 2	Fort Bend A
Team 8	v.	Team 1	Fort Bend B
Team 6	v.	Team 3	Montgomery A
Team 4	v.	Team 9	Montgomery B

Awards Ceremony and Reception will be held in the Liberty Ballroom immediately following Preliminary Round VII.

THURSDAY, JUNE 21, 2018

10:00 a.m. *Semifinal Round* Fort Bend A Fort Bend B

2:00 p.m. Final Round

Galveston A

Awards Ceremony immediately following Final Round in Galveston A.

Participating Law Schools

Baylor Law School Coach: Kathy A. Serr

South Texas College of Law Houston Coach: Robert L. Galloway

Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law Coaches: Lance E. Caughfield and Haleigh Jones

St. Mary's University School of Law *Coach: Ricky J. Poole*

> Michael K. Amaya Katelynn Armijo Bobby Biedrzycki Max Brown Charles Carter Meredith Clark Megan Erinakes Kristen Gavigan

Sophia George Sandra Guillen Will Haacker Taylor Hennington Rachel Holland-Hadjis Davinder Jassal Ian Klein Erica Mahoney

Team Members

Gina Mills Haley Mowdy Rebecca Neumann Heather Nichols Kyle Stone Vera Ann Theodorou Elizabeth Wroblewski

2017-2018 TYLA State Moot Court Committee

Chair *M. Kaylan Dunn*

Committee Matthew L. Czimskey Jonathan Garcia Sara Anne Giddings Paul Leopold Michael J. Ritter Shivali Sharma Brandy Wingate Voss

Problem Drafters Paul Leopold Michael J. Ritter Brief Judges Nate Beal Andrew Monaco Andrew Thompson

Texas A&M University School of Law

Texas Tech University School of Law

University of Houston Law Center

University of North Texas Dallas

Coach: Jennifer A. Ellis

Coach: Robert T. Sherwin

Coaches: Jennifer Floyd and

John-Thomas Foster

Coach: Johannes Walker

College of Law

TYLA Executive Committee Advisor Sally Pretorius

> TYLA President Baili B. Rhodes

State Moot Court Coordinator Bree Trevino

ANDREWS KURTH

The Texas Young Lawyers Association would like to thank the Texas Supreme Court and the other volunteer attorneys and judges who volunteered their time to judge the 2018 State Moot Court competition. We would also like to thank your sponsors:

BRANDY WINGATE VOSS