TYLA State Moot Court Competition Champions

- 1975 University of Texas School of Law Susan Combs, John Nelson, and Charles Oliver
- 1976 Baylor University School of Law Leonard E. Davis, Sidney A. Fitzwater, and Kirk B. Purcell
 - 1977 University of Texas School of Law Kelley K. Beck, Gary L. Buckwalter, and Barbara Radnofsky
- 1978 Southern Methodist University School of Law Brian D. Melton, Cindy M. Ohlenforst, and Gordon M. Shapiro
- 1979 Baylor University School of Law Donald F. Lively, Ken Patterson, and Robert T. Rhodes
- 1980 St. Mary's University School of Law John W. McChristian, Jr., Shelton Smith, and Lisa Vance
- 1981 South Texas College of Law Diantha J. Garrett, Neil McCabe, and Lyn McClellan
 - 1982 University of Houston Law Center Elena F. Dhorio, Patricia J. Kerrigan, and Robyn S. Rothman
 - 1983 South Texas College of Law Devon Decker, Paige Pace, and Jeff Rusk
- 1984 South Texas College of Law Richard Hogan, Jr., Vickie Martin, and Paige Pace
- 1985 South Texas College of Law Terrie Gerlich, Richard Hogan, Jr., and Mike Martin
- 1986 St. Mary's University School of Law *Philip Kazen, Richard Shreves, and William Taylor*
- 1987 South Texas College of Law Richard Laminack, Kathy Martinez, and Trace Sherer
 - 1988 Baylor University School of Law Cynthia Anne Leiferman and Susan I. Nelson
- 1989 St. Mary's University School of Law Ricky Poole, Tony Schaffer, and Victoria Valerga
- 1990 University of Texas School of Law Annette Davis, Greg Reed, and Lonnie Roach
- 1991 South Texas College of Law Sean Breen, Rob Galloway, and Shelly Van Natter
- 1992 University of Houston Law Center Mary Angela Graham, Perry McConnell, and Jim Perdue
 - 1993 Baylor University School of Law *Mike Schoen, Lori Weems, and Susan Young*
- 1994 University of Houston Law Center

 David Comeaux, Colleen Faddick, and Barbara Schnitzler

- 1995 Baylor University School of Law Kimberly Loving, Neil Smith, and Celeste Yeager
- 1996 South Texas College of Law Melina Cain, Martha Guice, and Christopher Nease
- 1997 Texas Tech University School of Law Sally Gary, Patricia Nellenbach, and Rosalyn Peacock
 - 1998 South Texas College of Law Kevin Cain, Brent Cordell, and Twila Baker
- 1999 Baylor University School of Law Amy O'Malley, Amber Slayton, and Ashlea Vogler
- 2000 South Texas College of Law Robert W. Cowan, Ann E. Johnson, and Mark A. Junell
 - 2001 South Texas College of Law Natalie C. Koehler, Rene' M. Sigman, and Michael F. Westbrook
 - 2002 St. Mary's University School of Law Rebecca Copeland, Monica Galvan, and Tina Campbell Harris
- 2003 South Texas College of Law Inger M. Hampton, J. Daniel Johnson, and Kyle R. Watson
- 2004 South Texas College of Law Nicole James, Taneka Johnson, and Paige Woodard
 - 2005 South Texas College of Law Angela N. Hamilton, David E. Harris, and Karl W. Seelbach
- 2006 St. Mary's University School of Law Kimberly M. Phillips, Alison Hicks, and Halina Radchenko
- 2007 Texas Wesleyan School of Law Melissa Swan, Johannes Walker, and Matthew Wright
- 2008 Texas Tech University School of Law Graigory Fancher, Matthew Luensmann, and Erin Welch
- 2009 Texas Tech University School of Law Vanessa Burgess, Rickie Cayton, and Mark Erickson
- 2010 South Texas College of Law Zachary Bowman, Jennifer Schuch, and Andrew Nelson
- 2011 University of Houston Law Center Seth Gagliardi, Patrick McKee, and Jameson Watts
 - 2012 Baylor University School of Law Morgan Harkins and Taylor Romero
- 2013 Texas Tech University School of Law Braden Brown, Jamee Cotton, and Tanner Hartnett



2014 State Moot Court Competition



Hilton Hotel Austin, Texas June 24-26, 2014

TYLA State Moot Court Competition 2014 Schedule of Events

Hilton Austin - June 24-26, 2014

8:00-8:30 a.m.	Teams Check-in	Room 614
8:15 a.m.	Bailiffs' Meeting	Room 613

TUESDAY, JUNE 24, 2014

v. Team 1 Room 615A

9:00 a.m. Preliminary Round I

Team 5

Team 7	v.	Team 3	Room 615B
Team 6	v.	Team 2	Room 616A
Team 4	v.	Team 8	Room 616B
11:00 a.m.	Prei	liminary R	ound II
Team 2	v.	Team 3	Room 615A
Team 4	v.	Team 1	Room 615B
Team 8	v.	Team 5	Room 616A
Team 6	v.	Team 7	Room 616B

2:30 p.m. *Preliminary Round III*

Team 1	V.	Team 6	Room 615A
Team 2	V.	Team 5	Room 615B
Team 3	V.	Team 8	Room 616A
Team 7	v .	Team 4	Room 616B

4:30 p.m. *Preliminary Round IV*

Team 8	V.	Team 7	Room 615A
Team 5	v .	Team 6	Room 615B
Team 3	v.	Team 4	Room 616A
Team 1	V.	Team 2	Room 616B

Welcome Reception Immediately following Preliminary Round IV — 6th Floor Terrace (Austin Grand Ballroom G fover)

WEDNESDAY, JUNE 25, 2014

Team 5 v. Team 7 Room 615A

9:00 a.m. *Preliminary Round V*

I cuiii 5		reall ,	1000111 0 1 5 1 1
Team 1	v.	Team 3	Room 615B
Team 4	v.	Team 2	Room 616A
Team 6	v.	Team 8	Room 616B
11:00 a.m.	Dual	iminam D	ound VI
11.00 a.iii.	Tren	инши у К	ouna vi
Team 2	V.	Team 8	Room 615A
Team 6	V.	Team 4	Room 615B
Team 7	v.	Team 1	Room 616A
Team 3	v.	Team 5	Room 616B
2:30 p.m.	Preliminary Round VII		
Team 3	V.	Team 6	Room 615A
Team 2	v.	Team 7	Room 615B
Team 8	v.	Team 1	Room 616A
Team 4	v.	Team 5	Room 616B

Awards Ceremony and Reception in Room 602 **Immediately following Preliminary** Round VII

THURSDAY, JUNE 26, 2014

0:00 a.m.	Semi-final Round
	Room 615A
	Room 615B

2:30 p.m. Final Round

Room 615A&B

Immediately following Final Round — Awards Ceremony in Room 615A&B

Participating Law Schools

Baylor	Law	Sch	ool
Coach:	Kath	νA.	Serr

Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law Coach: Lance Caughfield

St. Mary's University School of Law Coach: Ricky J. Poole

South Texas College of Law Coach: Robert L. Galloway

Texas A&M University School of Law

Coaches: Jennifer A. Ellis and Melinda Westmoreland

Texas Tech University School of Law

Coach: Robert T. Sherwin

Thurgood Marshall School of Law

Coaches: Prof. Marguerite Butler, Prof. Stephanie Smith Ledesma, and Joseph Tung

University of Houston Law Center

Coaches: John-Thomas Foster and

Stephen Robinson

Team Members

Mark Altman	Bianca Frisaura	Janet Landry
Stephen Bachran	Jacqueline Hamer	Kelsey Leiper
Stephanie Basom	Raneca Henson	Lorna McMillion
Jeremy Black	Kelsey Hope	Charles North
Nick Brown	Anthony Hynes	Jessica Rugeley
Rob Cantu	Haleigh Jones	Jessica Schaffner
Jess Dees	Robert Koehl	

2013-2014 TYLA State Moot Court Committee

Co-Chairs

Sam Houston Leif Olson Shannon Steel White Brandy Wingate Voss

Vice Chairs

Zachary Hall Clint Harbour

Problem Drafters

Zachary Hall Shivali Sharma

Brief Judges

Andrew Monaco Daniel Skinner Jacqueline M. Stroh

TYLA Executive Committee Advisor

C.E. Rhodes

TYLA President

Kristy Blanchard

State Moot Court Coordinator

Bree Trevino

The Texas Young Lawyers Association thanks the Texas Supreme Court and the other volunteer lawyers who judged the 2014 State Moot Court competition. TYLA also appreciates the generous contributions of our State Moot Court sponsors: Smith Law Group, the State Bar of Texas Appellate Section and the San Antonio Bar Association Appellate Practice Section.