TYLA Officers


Rebekah Steely Brooker, President


Dustin M. Howell, Chair


Sam Houston, Vice President


Baili B. Rhodes, Secretary


John W. Shaw, Treasurer


C. Barrett Thomas, President-elect


Priscilla D. Camacho, Chair-elect


Kristy Blanchard, Immediate Past President

TYLA Directors


Amanda A. Abraham, District 1


Sharesa Y. Alexander, Minority At-Large Director


Raymond J. Baeza, District 14

    Aaron J. Burke, District 5, Place 1

Aaron T. Capps, District 5, Place 2


D. Lance Currie, District 5, Place 3


Laura W. Docker, District 10, Place 1

    Andrew Dornburg, District 21
    John W. Ellis, District 8, Place 2
    Zeke Fortenberry, District 4

Bill Gardner, District 5, Place 4


Morgan L. Gaskin, District 6, Place 5

    Nick Guinn, District 18, Place 1

Adam C. Harden, District 6, Place 6


Amber L. James, District 17


Curtis W. Lucas, District 9

    Rudolph K. Metayer, District 8, Palce 1

Laura Pratt, District 3

    Sally Pretorius, District 8, Place 2

Baili B. Rhodes, District 2


Alex B. Roberts, District 6, Place 3

    Eduardo Romero, District 19
    Michelle P. Scheffler, District 6, Place 2

John W. Shaw, District 10, Place 2

    Nicole Soussan, District 6, Place 4
    L. Brook Stuntebeck, District 11

C. Barrett Thomas, District 15

    Judge Amanda N. Torres, Minority At-Large Director

Shannon Steel White, District 12

    Brandy Wingate Voss, District 13
    Veronica S. Wolfe, District 18, Place 2

Baylor Wortham, District 7

    Alex Yarbrough, District 16


Justice Paul W. Green, Supreme Court Liaison


Jenny Smith, Access To Justice Liaison


Brandon Crisp, ABA YLD District 25 Representative


Travis Patterson, ABA/YLD District 26 Representative


Assistant Dean Jill Nikirk, Law School Liaison


Belashia Wallace, Law Student Liaison


TYLA Office

Tracy Brown, Director of Administration
Bree Trevino, Project Coordinator

Michelle Palacios, Office Manager
General Questions: tyla@texasbar.com

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12487, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2487
(800) 204-2222 ext. 1529
FAX: (512) 427-4117

Street Address

1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 427-1529


Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.





























































Article of Interest

Article of Interest

New Presidential Policy Affords Work Permits to Some Undocumented Immigrants
By Alfonso Cabañas, Cabañas Law Firm, PLLC

On June 15, President Barack Obama announced that undocumented immigrants who came to the United States as children will be able to remain in the country and obtain work permits. The President’s policy does not grant lawful status to these individuals but rather defers their removal for two years and makes this status subject to renewal. Not every undocumented immigrant will qualify; only those individuals who meet the criteria set forth by the President’s policy will qualify for this deferred action. Immigration lawyers, and others whose practices are affected by immigrations law, should know the basics of this policy and how it affects current and future clients.

Who qualifies to receive deferred action?
Undocumented immigrants qualify for deferred action if they:
     1. Entered the United States before they turned sixteen;
     2. Are present in and have continuously resided in the United States for at least five years
         preceding June 15, 2012;
     3. Are enrolled in school, have graduated from high school, have obtained a general education
         development certificate, or have been honorably discharged from the Coast Guard or Armed
     4. Have not been convicted of a felony, a significant misdemeanor, or multiple misdemeanors,
         and they do not otherwise pose a threat to national security or public safety; and
     5. Are not more than thirty years old.

What is deferred action?
Deferred action is a discretionary deferral of a removal action against an undocumented individual. Deferred action does not absolve the individual of previous or subsequent periods of unlawful presence. The grant of deferred action does, however, allow the individual to obtain a work permit that allows lawful employment during the deferral period.  Deferred-action status lasts for two years and is subject to renewal.

How will the new directive be implemented?
While the directive takes effect immediately, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) and Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) will implement the application process by August 14. Individuals who are subject to a final order of removal or who are not in removal proceedings will need to submit a request, along with supporting evidence, to USCIS for review of their case.

Does the process result in permanent lawful status for the applicant?
Deferred action does not grant lawful permanent status or a pathway to obtaining lawful status.

Can individuals appeal a denial by USCIS and ICE of their requests for a deferral action?
No, there is no appeal from a denial of a request for deferral action.

If the request for deferral action is denied, will the applicant be placed in removal proceedings?
The applicants whose requests are denied will be placed in removal proceedings through the USCIS’s governing guidelines regarding Notices to Appear.

Please remember that this is a brief summary of the directive. Additional guidelines and procedures will continue to be implemented in the coming weeks.