TYLA Officers


Rebekah Steely Brooker, President


Dustin M. Howell, Chair


Sam Houston, Vice President


Baili B. Rhodes, Secretary


John W. Shaw, Treasurer


C. Barrett Thomas, President-elect


Priscilla D. Camacho, Chair-elect


Kristy Blanchard, Immediate Past President

TYLA Directors


Amanda A. Abraham, District 1


Sharesa Y. Alexander, Minority At-Large Director


Raymond J. Baeza, District 14

    Aaron J. Burke, District 5, Place 1

Aaron T. Capps, District 5, Place 2


D. Lance Currie, District 5, Place 3


Laura W. Docker, District 10, Place 1

    Andrew Dornburg, District 21
    John W. Ellis, District 8, Place 2
    Zeke Fortenberry, District 4

Bill Gardner, District 5, Place 4


Morgan L. Gaskin, District 6, Place 5

    Nick Guinn, District 18, Place 1

Adam C. Harden, District 6, Place 6


Amber L. James, District 17


Curtis W. Lucas, District 9

    Rudolph K. Metayer, District 8, Palce 1

Laura Pratt, District 3

    Sally Pretorius, District 8, Place 2

Baili B. Rhodes, District 2


Alex B. Roberts, District 6, Place 3

    Eduardo Romero, District 19
    Michelle P. Scheffler, District 6, Place 2

John W. Shaw, District 10, Place 2

    Nicole Soussan, District 6, Place 4
    L. Brook Stuntebeck, District 11

C. Barrett Thomas, District 15

    Judge Amanda N. Torres, Minority At-Large Director

Shannon Steel White, District 12

    Brandy Wingate Voss, District 13
    Veronica S. Wolfe, District 18, Place 2

Baylor Wortham, District 7

    Alex Yarbrough, District 16


Justice Paul W. Green, Supreme Court Liaison


Jenny Smith, Access To Justice Liaison


Brandon Crisp, ABA YLD District 25 Representative


Travis Patterson, ABA/YLD District 26 Representative


Assistant Dean Jill Nikirk, Law School Liaison


Belashia Wallace, Law Student Liaison


TYLA Office

Tracy Brown, Director of Administration
Bree Trevino, Project Coordinator

Michelle Palacios, Office Manager
General Questions: tyla@texasbar.com

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12487, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2487
(800) 204-2222 ext. 1529
FAX: (512) 427-4117

Street Address

1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 427-1529


Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.





























































Texas Access To Justice Commission Update

Texas Access to Justice Commission's New Facebook Page
The Texas Access to Justice Commission launched its new Facebook page. We encourage you to “Like” the page (www.facebook.com/TexasATJ), visit it often, and share it with others. By doing so, you will help increase awareness of access to justice issues as well as the efforts the Commission is making to reduce barriers to the justice system for low-income Texans. We look forward to providing you with the latest information on Legal Aid in Texas.

Pro Bono College
The Pro Bono College was created in 1992 by the State Bar of Texas to recognize attorneys who far exceed the Bar’s aspirational pro bono goals. Attorneys who give at least 75 hours of eligible legal assistance work are invited to join the College. In 2012, the College consisted of 402 attorneys and 26 paralegals, with efforts totaling well over 30,000 pro bono hours.

As the Pro Bono College celebrated its 20 year anniversary, two of the founding members of the College reached a 20 year membership milestone as well. Ronald “Ned” Dennis and William O. Whitehurst have demonstrated a commitment to pro bono and serve as a model for the rest of us. Ned and Bill were honored at the Texas Access to Justice Foundation’s Supreme Court Luncheon to kick-off National Pro Bono Week.

The Commission, the Foundation, and the State Bar of Texas joined the ABA Standing Committee on Pro Bono and Public Service once again in the weeklong celebration to pro bono, October 21 – 27. The nationwide event showcases the impact pro bono attorneys have on a client’s life, the community, and on the entire justice system.

Texas is fortunate to have so many attorneys donating their time and expertise to those in need. During the celebration, local bar associations, law firms across the state, Texas law schools, and legal services programs scheduled events for the celebration and spotlighted their star pro bono volunteers.

While the national celebration puts pro bono on center stage for a week, these services are needed year-round. As part of your New Year’s resolution, consider taking at least one pro bono case in 2013. To volunteer with your local program, visit www.texaslawyershelp.org. We salute you for your current and continued support.