TYLA Officers


Rebekah Steely Brooker, President


Dustin M. Howell, Chair


Sam Houston, Vice President


Baili B. Rhodes, Secretary


John W. Shaw, Treasurer


C. Barrett Thomas, President-elect


Priscilla D. Camacho, Chair-elect


Kristy Blanchard, Immediate Past President

TYLA Directors


Amanda A. Abraham, District 1


Sharesa Y. Alexander, Minority At-Large Director


Raymond J. Baeza, District 14

    Aaron J. Burke, District 5, Place 1

Aaron T. Capps, District 5, Place 2


D. Lance Currie, District 5, Place 3


Laura W. Docker, District 10, Place 1

    Andrew Dornburg, District 21
    John W. Ellis, District 8, Place 2
    Zeke Fortenberry, District 4

Bill Gardner, District 5, Place 4


Morgan L. Gaskin, District 6, Place 5

    Nick Guinn, District 18, Place 1

Adam C. Harden, District 6, Place 6


Amber L. James, District 17


Curtis W. Lucas, District 9

    Rudolph K. Metayer, District 8, Palce 1

Laura Pratt, District 3

    Sally Pretorius, District 8, Place 2

Baili B. Rhodes, District 2


Alex B. Roberts, District 6, Place 3

    Eduardo Romero, District 19
    Michelle P. Scheffler, District 6, Place 2

John W. Shaw, District 10, Place 2

    Nicole Soussan, District 6, Place 4
    L. Brook Stuntebeck, District 11

C. Barrett Thomas, District 15

    Judge Amanda N. Torres, Minority At-Large Director

Shannon Steel White, District 12

    Brandy Wingate Voss, District 13
    Veronica S. Wolfe, District 18, Place 2

Baylor Wortham, District 7

    Alex Yarbrough, District 16


Justice Paul W. Green, Supreme Court Liaison


Jenny Smith, Access To Justice Liaison


Brandon Crisp, ABA YLD District 25 Representative


Travis Patterson, ABA/YLD District 26 Representative


Assistant Dean Jill Nikirk, Law School Liaison


Belashia Wallace, Law Student Liaison


TYLA Office

Tracy Brown, Director of Administration
Bree Trevino, Project Coordinator

Michelle Palacios, Office Manager
General Questions: tyla@texasbar.com

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12487, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2487
(800) 204-2222 ext. 1529
FAX: (512) 427-4117

Street Address

1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 427-1529


Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.





























































Top Story

Top Story

Exercise Your Right to Rock the State Bar Election Vote!
By: Shivali Sharma

If you justified squandering five minutes of your morning by promising yourself to be productive later, take this challenge to seize the day! Make a big impact in the 2011-2012 State Bar of Texas Election with a few clicks of your mouse. To get started, all you have to do is click here, enter your bar number, the last four digits of your social security number, your birth date, and vote now! Roughly 20,000 of the 80,000 attorneys eligible to vote cast a ballot. With your help, this fairly new online voting system will banish low voter turnout.

Guy Choate of San Angelo and F.R. “Buck” Files, Jr. of Tyler top the ballot as your State Bar President-Elect candidates. Click here for more information and campaign brochures from these extremely qualified candidates. Young lawyers can also vote in the TYLA President-Elect race between David Courreges of Austin and C.E. Rhodes of Houston. Read all about these dedicated candidates here. As always, your ballot will also allow you to elect your local State Bar and TYLA representatives. Election results will be announced on May 2, 2011.  * Of course, you can also use your paper ballot, which you should have already received, to cast your vote. If you have not, please e-mail custserv@vres.us or call (800) 218-4026. The deadline to cast your vote is April 30, 2011, at 5:00 p.m.

While you Rock the Vote, take the time to congratulate the incoming 2011-2012 TYLA Executive Committee. Each member has demonstrated their dedication and excellence in serving on the TYLA board.
President Natalie Cobb Koehler, Meridian
Chair of the Board Alfonso Cabanas, San Antonio
Vice President Kristy Sims Piazza, Plano
Secretary Sarah Rodgers, Dallas
Treasurer Natasha L. Brooks, Midland
Chair-Elect of the Board Alyssa J. Long, San Antonio
Immediate Past President Jennifer Evans Morris, Dallas