TYLA Officers


Rebekah Steely Brooker, President


Dustin M. Howell, Chair


Sam Houston, Vice President


Baili B. Rhodes, Secretary


John W. Shaw, Treasurer


C. Barrett Thomas, President-elect


Priscilla D. Camacho, Chair-elect


Kristy Blanchard, Immediate Past President

TYLA Directors


Amanda A. Abraham, District 1


Sharesa Y. Alexander, Minority At-Large Director


Raymond J. Baeza, District 14

    Aaron J. Burke, District 5, Place 1

Aaron T. Capps, District 5, Place 2


D. Lance Currie, District 5, Place 3


Laura W. Docker, District 10, Place 1

    Andrew Dornburg, District 21
    John W. Ellis, District 8, Place 2
    Zeke Fortenberry, District 4

Bill Gardner, District 5, Place 4


Morgan L. Gaskin, District 6, Place 5

    Nick Guinn, District 18, Place 1

Adam C. Harden, District 6, Place 6


Amber L. James, District 17


Curtis W. Lucas, District 9

    Rudolph K. Metayer, District 8, Palce 1

Laura Pratt, District 3

    Sally Pretorius, District 8, Place 2

Baili B. Rhodes, District 2


Alex B. Roberts, District 6, Place 3

    Eduardo Romero, District 19
    Michelle P. Scheffler, District 6, Place 2

John W. Shaw, District 10, Place 2

    Nicole Soussan, District 6, Place 4
    L. Brook Stuntebeck, District 11

C. Barrett Thomas, District 15

    Judge Amanda N. Torres, Minority At-Large Director

Shannon Steel White, District 12

    Brandy Wingate Voss, District 13
    Veronica S. Wolfe, District 18, Place 2

Baylor Wortham, District 7

    Alex Yarbrough, District 16


Justice Paul W. Green, Supreme Court Liaison


Jenny Smith, Access To Justice Liaison


Brandon Crisp, ABA YLD District 25 Representative


Travis Patterson, ABA/YLD District 26 Representative


Assistant Dean Jill Nikirk, Law School Liaison


Belashia Wallace, Law Student Liaison


TYLA Office

Tracy Brown, Director of Administration
Bree Trevino, Project Coordinator

Michelle Palacios, Office Manager
General Questions: tyla@texasbar.com

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12487, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2487
(800) 204-2222 ext. 1529
FAX: (512) 427-4117

Street Address

1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 427-1529


Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.





























































Access To Justice Commission Update

Poverty Law Conference
APRIL 18-20, 2012

The 2012 Poverty Law Conference will be held at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin April 18-20.  This three day event provides valuable training on poverty law issues affecting low-income and poor Texans.  The conference offers targeted continuing legal education with a specific public interest focus. The conference will feature presentations from some of the most knowledgeable poverty law practitioners and private attorneys in their respective fields.

What to Expect
• A multi-tracked substantive curriculum focusing on all aspects of poverty law practice, including, but not limited to, family, housing, consumer, immigration and public benefits
• The opportunity to learn from successful practitioners, within legal services and the private sector
• A broad-based program offering valuable sessions, whether you are a seasoned advocate, generalist, or new legal services attorney
• An open forum where you can meet and network with colleagues who represent low-income and poor Texans
• A full year's worth of CLE credit at a cost that can't be beat, and of the quality that you've come to expect from the Legal Services Support Division of the State Bar

Who Should Attend
• Executive directors of legal services programs
• Managers of legal services programs
• Legal services staff attorneys
• Civil legal aid advocates
• Advocates who provide legal assistance to low-income members of the military
• Pro bono program managers and staff
• Private attorneys who provide pro bono services in civil cases
• Law students interested in providing legal services to the poor

Conference Agenda [PDF]
Workshop Description [PDF]

•  Register Online
• To register by fax or mail, use this form [PDF].

If you are:
• Employed by a program receiving LSC funds
• Employed by a program receiving TAJF funds
• Employed by a Texas non-profit legal services provider, where at least 50% of the civil legal services are free to Texans whose income is 175% of the federal poverty guidelines or less
• Employed by a domestic violence agency
• Employed as a legal assistance officer
• A member of the 2011 Pro Bono College

Your fee is:
            $100 for full conference and materials
            $75 for Thursday ONLY tuition and materials

If you are a government attorney, your fee is:
            $150 for full conference and materials
            $125 for Thursday ONLY tuition and materials

If you are a private attorney, your fee is:
            $450 for full conference and materials
            $200 for Thursday ONLY tuition and materials

Scholarship Applications

A limited number of partial and full scholarships are available for legal service advocates. If your attendance is contingent upon receipt of a Poverty Law Conference scholarship, please do not register for the conference until you have been notified of a scholarship award. Payment is required at the time of registration. We will notify recipients about whether we are able to offer a scholarship to applicants by March2, 2012.
To apply for assistance, complete the scholarship form [PDF] and submit by February 24, 2012.




800.204.2222, (ext. 1855)