TYLA Officers


Rebekah Steely Brooker, President


Dustin M. Howell, Chair


Sam Houston, Vice President


Baili B. Rhodes, Secretary


John W. Shaw, Treasurer


C. Barrett Thomas, President-elect


Priscilla D. Camacho, Chair-elect


Kristy Blanchard, Immediate Past President

TYLA Directors


Amanda A. Abraham, District 1


Sharesa Y. Alexander, Minority At-Large Director


Raymond J. Baeza, District 14

    Aaron J. Burke, District 5, Place 1

Aaron T. Capps, District 5, Place 2


D. Lance Currie, District 5, Place 3


Laura W. Docker, District 10, Place 1

    Andrew Dornburg, District 21
    John W. Ellis, District 8, Place 2
    Zeke Fortenberry, District 4

Bill Gardner, District 5, Place 4


Morgan L. Gaskin, District 6, Place 5

    Nick Guinn, District 18, Place 1

Adam C. Harden, District 6, Place 6


Amber L. James, District 17


Curtis W. Lucas, District 9

    Rudolph K. Metayer, District 8, Palce 1

Laura Pratt, District 3

    Sally Pretorius, District 8, Place 2

Baili B. Rhodes, District 2


Alex B. Roberts, District 6, Place 3

    Eduardo Romero, District 19
    Michelle P. Scheffler, District 6, Place 2

John W. Shaw, District 10, Place 2

    Nicole Soussan, District 6, Place 4
    L. Brook Stuntebeck, District 11

C. Barrett Thomas, District 15

    Judge Amanda N. Torres, Minority At-Large Director

Shannon Steel White, District 12

    Brandy Wingate Voss, District 13
    Veronica S. Wolfe, District 18, Place 2

Baylor Wortham, District 7

    Alex Yarbrough, District 16


Justice Paul W. Green, Supreme Court Liaison


Jenny Smith, Access To Justice Liaison


Brandon Crisp, ABA YLD District 25 Representative


Travis Patterson, ABA/YLD District 26 Representative


Assistant Dean Jill Nikirk, Law School Liaison


Belashia Wallace, Law Student Liaison


TYLA Office

Tracy Brown, Director of Administration
Bree Trevino, Project Coordinator

Michelle Palacios, Office Manager
General Questions: tyla@texasbar.com

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12487, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2487
(800) 204-2222 ext. 1529
FAX: (512) 427-4117

Street Address

1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 427-1529


Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.





























































Feature TYLA Affiliate

Feature TYLA Affiliate

Ector and Midland County Young Lawyer Associations’ Evening with the Judges
By:  Angela M. Shimek - President, Ector County Young Lawyers Associaton

          On Thursday, March 29th, the Ector and Midland County Young Lawyer Associations held their annual fundraiser, Evening with the Judges.  Established in 2007, this annual fundraiser brings together attorneys, judges, and elected officials from across Ector, Midland, and surrounding counties for a night of great food, fellowship, and fun. 

          The Honorable Judge Robert A. Junell, United States District Judge for the Western District of Texas (Midland-Odessa Division), charismatically introduced this year’s honored guest speaker, The Honorable Sam Sparks, United States District Judge for the Western District of Texas (Austin Division).  Judge Sparks reminisced about “the way it was” when he began practicing and delivered a delightful message encouraging all attorneys to embrace the value of arm’s length negotiations and the integrity of establishing and maintaining professional and amicable relationships with opposing counsel both inside and outside the courtroom. 

          With almost two hundred guests in attendance, this year’s event set a record for attendance, and was an enjoyable experience for all involved.  Sincere appreciation goes out to all attorneys and firms who sponsored the event, and to attorneys Angela M. Shimek and Daniel Harper of Odessa, Christine Schwartz Nichols and Kelly Stapler of Midland, and Pete Fierro of Legal Aid of NorthWest Texas, who spearheaded the event.  Proceeds from the 5th Annual Evening with the Judges were donated to Legal Aid of NorthWest Texas in honor of the late Judge John G. Hyde, who served as District Judge of the 238th District Court, Midland County, for 22 years.