TYLA Officers


Rebekah Steely Brooker, President


Dustin M. Howell, Chair


Sam Houston, Vice President


Baili B. Rhodes, Secretary


John W. Shaw, Treasurer


C. Barrett Thomas, President-elect


Priscilla D. Camacho, Chair-elect


Kristy Blanchard, Immediate Past President

TYLA Directors


Amanda A. Abraham, District 1


Sharesa Y. Alexander, Minority At-Large Director


Raymond J. Baeza, District 14

    Aaron J. Burke, District 5, Place 1

Aaron T. Capps, District 5, Place 2


D. Lance Currie, District 5, Place 3


Laura W. Docker, District 10, Place 1

    Andrew Dornburg, District 21
    John W. Ellis, District 8, Place 2
    Zeke Fortenberry, District 4

Bill Gardner, District 5, Place 4


Morgan L. Gaskin, District 6, Place 5

    Nick Guinn, District 18, Place 1

Adam C. Harden, District 6, Place 6


Amber L. James, District 17


Curtis W. Lucas, District 9

    Rudolph K. Metayer, District 8, Palce 1

Laura Pratt, District 3

    Sally Pretorius, District 8, Place 2

Baili B. Rhodes, District 2


Alex B. Roberts, District 6, Place 3

    Eduardo Romero, District 19
    Michelle P. Scheffler, District 6, Place 2

John W. Shaw, District 10, Place 2

    Nicole Soussan, District 6, Place 4
    L. Brook Stuntebeck, District 11

C. Barrett Thomas, District 15

    Judge Amanda N. Torres, Minority At-Large Director

Shannon Steel White, District 12

    Brandy Wingate Voss, District 13
    Veronica S. Wolfe, District 18, Place 2

Baylor Wortham, District 7

    Alex Yarbrough, District 16


Justice Paul W. Green, Supreme Court Liaison


Jenny Smith, Access To Justice Liaison


Brandon Crisp, ABA YLD District 25 Representative


Travis Patterson, ABA/YLD District 26 Representative


Assistant Dean Jill Nikirk, Law School Liaison


Belashia Wallace, Law Student Liaison


TYLA Office

Tracy Brown, Director of Administration
Bree Trevino, Project Coordinator

Michelle Palacios, Office Manager
General Questions: tyla@texasbar.com

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12487, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2487
(800) 204-2222 ext. 1529
FAX: (512) 427-4117

Street Address

1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 427-1529


Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.





























































Important Dates To Remember

Important Dates To Remember

January 12, 2012
TYLA and DYLA present Diversity, Dinner, & Dialogue - Dallas

January 12-15, 2012
TYLA Board of Directors Meeting - Frisco

January 16, 2012
Holiday - Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (Texas Law Center closed)

January 18, 2012
TYLA Officer ballots are mailed to the TYLA Board of Directors

February 1, 2012
TYLA director nomination petitions appear in the Texas Bar Journal and are mailed to the outgoing TYLA Directors and Local Affiliate Presidents

February 1, 2012
TYLA notice of Minority-At-Large Director Place 2 elections mailed to TYLA Directors, Local Affiliates, Minority Bar Associations and Texas Bar Journal

February 1, 2012
TYLA Outstanding Young Lawyer of Texas Award, Liberty Bell Award and Outstanding Mentor Award rules and criteria are mailed to TYLA Local Affiliate Presidents, Local Bars and Minority  Bar Associations

February 1, 2012
TYLA Officer election results are announced

February 1-7, 2012
ABA/NABE/NCBP/NCBF & ABA/YLD midyear meetings; House of Delegates - New Orleans, LA

February 20, 2012
Holiday - Presidents' Day (Texas Law Center closed)

March 1, 2012
Filing deadline for nominating petitions for SBOT and TYLA Director and President-elect positions - 5 p.m.

March 1, 2012
SBOT and TYLA Director and President-elect nominees' campaigns begin outside of their offices

March 2, 2012
Drawing for positions on the ballot - 10 a.m., President's Conference Room, 3rd Floor, Texas Law Center - Austin

March 2, 2012
TYLA notice of ABA/YLD District 25 Representative election mailed to all ABA/YLD District 25 affiliate presidents

March 5, 2012
TYLA notice to all TYLA Local Affiliate Presidents announcing deadlines for the TYLA and the ABA/YLD Award of Achievement Competition

March 9, 2012
TYLA Joseph M. Pritchard Inn membership application mailed to all past and present officers and directors of TYLA

March 15, 2012
TYLA deadline to receive completed nomination forms for the Minority At-Large Director Place 2 election

March 16, 2012
TYLA deadline to receive completed nomination forms for the ABA/YLD District 25 Representative election

March 19, 2012
TYLA ballots for the ABA/YLD District 25 Representative election mailed to all ABA/YLD District 25 affiliate presidents

March 23-25, 2012
TYLA National Trial Competition - Austin