TYLA Officers


Rebekah Steely Brooker, President


Dustin M. Howell, Chair


Sam Houston, Vice President


Baili B. Rhodes, Secretary


John W. Shaw, Treasurer


C. Barrett Thomas, President-elect


Priscilla D. Camacho, Chair-elect


Kristy Blanchard, Immediate Past President

TYLA Directors


Amanda A. Abraham, District 1


Sharesa Y. Alexander, Minority At-Large Director


Raymond J. Baeza, District 14

    Aaron J. Burke, District 5, Place 1

Aaron T. Capps, District 5, Place 2


D. Lance Currie, District 5, Place 3


Laura W. Docker, District 10, Place 1

    Andrew Dornburg, District 21
    John W. Ellis, District 8, Place 2
    Zeke Fortenberry, District 4

Bill Gardner, District 5, Place 4


Morgan L. Gaskin, District 6, Place 5

    Nick Guinn, District 18, Place 1

Adam C. Harden, District 6, Place 6


Amber L. James, District 17


Curtis W. Lucas, District 9

    Rudolph K. Metayer, District 8, Palce 1

Laura Pratt, District 3

    Sally Pretorius, District 8, Place 2

Baili B. Rhodes, District 2


Alex B. Roberts, District 6, Place 3

    Eduardo Romero, District 19
    Michelle P. Scheffler, District 6, Place 2

John W. Shaw, District 10, Place 2

    Nicole Soussan, District 6, Place 4
    L. Brook Stuntebeck, District 11

C. Barrett Thomas, District 15

    Judge Amanda N. Torres, Minority At-Large Director

Shannon Steel White, District 12

    Brandy Wingate Voss, District 13
    Veronica S. Wolfe, District 18, Place 2

Baylor Wortham, District 7

    Alex Yarbrough, District 16


Justice Paul W. Green, Supreme Court Liaison


Jenny Smith, Access To Justice Liaison


Brandon Crisp, ABA YLD District 25 Representative


Travis Patterson, ABA/YLD District 26 Representative


Assistant Dean Jill Nikirk, Law School Liaison


Belashia Wallace, Law Student Liaison


TYLA Office

Tracy Brown, Director of Administration
Bree Trevino, Project Coordinator

Michelle Palacios, Office Manager
General Questions: tyla@texasbar.com

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12487, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2487
(800) 204-2222 ext. 1529
FAX: (512) 427-4117

Street Address

1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 427-1529


Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.





























































Important Dates to Remember

Oct. 9-12, 2014
ABA/YLD Fall Conference - Portland, OR

Oct. 10, 2014
TYLA deadline to receive TYLA Diversity Scholarship applications

Oct. 17, 2014
Handling Your First (or Next) Employment Law Case CLE
Register to attend at the Law Center by Oct. 3 and save $75

Oct. 19-25, 2014
National Pro Bono Week Celebration

Oct. 24, 2014
The Second Annual “Nuts & Bolts of International Law” Seminar & Networking Lunch
at Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law
8 a.m. for coffee, check-in and networking and 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. for the seminar (CDT)
To learn more and to register (free of charge, including lunch), please click here

Nov. 3, 2014
TYLA deadline to receive second committee report

Nov. 11, 2014
Holiday - Veterans Day (Texas Law Center closed)

Nov. 14-16, 2014
TYLA Board of Directors Meeting - T Bar M Resort, New Braunfels

Nov. 17, 2014
New Lawyers Induction Ceremony - Frank Erwin Center, Austin

Nov. 27-28, 2014
Holiday - Thanksgiving (Texas Law Center closed)