TYLA Officers


Rebekah Steely Brooker, President


Dustin M. Howell, Chair


Sam Houston, Vice President


Baili B. Rhodes, Secretary


John W. Shaw, Treasurer


C. Barrett Thomas, President-elect


Priscilla D. Camacho, Chair-elect


Kristy Blanchard, Immediate Past President

TYLA Directors


Amanda A. Abraham, District 1


Sharesa Y. Alexander, Minority At-Large Director


Raymond J. Baeza, District 14

    Aaron J. Burke, District 5, Place 1

Aaron T. Capps, District 5, Place 2


D. Lance Currie, District 5, Place 3


Laura W. Docker, District 10, Place 1

    Andrew Dornburg, District 21
    John W. Ellis, District 8, Place 2
    Zeke Fortenberry, District 4

Bill Gardner, District 5, Place 4


Morgan L. Gaskin, District 6, Place 5

    Nick Guinn, District 18, Place 1

Adam C. Harden, District 6, Place 6


Amber L. James, District 17


Curtis W. Lucas, District 9

    Rudolph K. Metayer, District 8, Palce 1

Laura Pratt, District 3

    Sally Pretorius, District 8, Place 2

Baili B. Rhodes, District 2


Alex B. Roberts, District 6, Place 3

    Eduardo Romero, District 19
    Michelle P. Scheffler, District 6, Place 2

John W. Shaw, District 10, Place 2

    Nicole Soussan, District 6, Place 4
    L. Brook Stuntebeck, District 11

C. Barrett Thomas, District 15

    Judge Amanda N. Torres, Minority At-Large Director

Shannon Steel White, District 12

    Brandy Wingate Voss, District 13
    Veronica S. Wolfe, District 18, Place 2

Baylor Wortham, District 7

    Alex Yarbrough, District 16


Justice Paul W. Green, Supreme Court Liaison


Jenny Smith, Access To Justice Liaison


Brandon Crisp, ABA YLD District 25 Representative


Travis Patterson, ABA/YLD District 26 Representative


Assistant Dean Jill Nikirk, Law School Liaison


Belashia Wallace, Law Student Liaison


TYLA Office

Tracy Brown, Director of Administration
Bree Trevino, Project Coordinator

Michelle Palacios, Office Manager
General Questions: tyla@texasbar.com

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12487, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2487
(800) 204-2222 ext. 1529
FAX: (512) 427-4117

Street Address

1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 427-1529


Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.





























































Editor's Column

Editor's Column

A Renewed Commitment
By: Kenneth C. Riney, Hermes Sargent Bates, LLP, Editor, eNews

Every summer, there is a change in TYLA’s leadership; a new president is sworn in, new officers are installed and newly elected directors take their place on the board of directors. Although TYLA’s leadership changes on an annual basis, there is one constant that accompanies this transition: a renewed commitment to TYLA’s goals of facilitating the administration of justice, fostering respect for the law, advancing the role of the legal profession in service the public, assisting Texas attorneys in their practice and providing public legal education services to Texans. And with this renewed commitment by TYLA’s leadership comes new opportunities for TYLA members to assist in achieving these goals.

In this issue of eNews, you will read about some of these opportunities, including projects and other ideas exchanged at a recent gathering of local affiliates, as well as a new project that aims to encourage and facilitate pro bono work between in-house counsel and lawyers in private practice. You will also read how one local affiliate is maintaining its commitment to honor the victims and heroes of 9/11 ten years after the attacks. Finally, you will find articles that will assist you in your practice, including articles that discuss recent legislative and case law updates.

Every year, TYLA’s leadership sets lofty goals, but with your help, these goals are easily within reach. We hope you will join us this year in our renewed commitment to serving our profession and the public.