TYLA Officers


Rebekah Steely Brooker, President


Dustin M. Howell, Chair


Sam Houston, Vice President


Baili B. Rhodes, Secretary


John W. Shaw, Treasurer


C. Barrett Thomas, President-elect


Priscilla D. Camacho, Chair-elect


Kristy Blanchard, Immediate Past President

TYLA Directors


Amanda A. Abraham, District 1


Sharesa Y. Alexander, Minority At-Large Director


Raymond J. Baeza, District 14

    Aaron J. Burke, District 5, Place 1

Aaron T. Capps, District 5, Place 2


D. Lance Currie, District 5, Place 3


Laura W. Docker, District 10, Place 1

    Andrew Dornburg, District 21
    John W. Ellis, District 8, Place 2
    Zeke Fortenberry, District 4

Bill Gardner, District 5, Place 4


Morgan L. Gaskin, District 6, Place 5

    Nick Guinn, District 18, Place 1

Adam C. Harden, District 6, Place 6


Amber L. James, District 17


Curtis W. Lucas, District 9

    Rudolph K. Metayer, District 8, Palce 1

Laura Pratt, District 3

    Sally Pretorius, District 8, Place 2

Baili B. Rhodes, District 2


Alex B. Roberts, District 6, Place 3

    Eduardo Romero, District 19
    Michelle P. Scheffler, District 6, Place 2

John W. Shaw, District 10, Place 2

    Nicole Soussan, District 6, Place 4
    L. Brook Stuntebeck, District 11

C. Barrett Thomas, District 15

    Judge Amanda N. Torres, Minority At-Large Director

Shannon Steel White, District 12

    Brandy Wingate Voss, District 13
    Veronica S. Wolfe, District 18, Place 2

Baylor Wortham, District 7

    Alex Yarbrough, District 16


Justice Paul W. Green, Supreme Court Liaison


Jenny Smith, Access To Justice Liaison


Brandon Crisp, ABA YLD District 25 Representative


Travis Patterson, ABA/YLD District 26 Representative


Assistant Dean Jill Nikirk, Law School Liaison


Belashia Wallace, Law Student Liaison


TYLA Office

Tracy Brown, Director of Administration
Bree Trevino, Project Coordinator

Michelle Palacios, Office Manager
General Questions: tyla@texasbar.com

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 12487, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2487
(800) 204-2222 ext. 1529
FAX: (512) 427-4117

Street Address

1414 Colorado, 4th Floor
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 427-1529


Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.





























































Top Story

Top Story

Bar Leaders Conference Kicks Off the Bar Year
By: Cameron Cox, Attorney, Sawko & Burroughs, P.C.

The 2011 Bar Leaders Conference, held this year in Houston, contained a unique aroma of service to the Bar with the flavor of giving back to the community. The Conference blended all local affiliates and leaders, allowing them to coordinate and develop successful initiatives for the upcoming year.

The Conference began with the unveiling of the State Bar of Texas’s initiatives for 2011-2012, introduced by this year’s president, Bob Black. President Black presented his vision for attorneys in Texas in the coming year, emphasizing the importance of a self-governing State Bar as the best way for attorneys to be governed. He then showcased two powerful videos. The first video featured an overview of Marbury v. Madision, which will serve as an informative video for all public school children to view and discuss in preparation for the TEKS test. This video analyzes the famous case that set the precedent for judicial review and the powerful role the United States Supreme Court serves in reviewing the constitutionality of laws and policies. The second video highlighted the contributions of attorneys throughout history in protecting the rights of all individuals.

The next day, TYLA led the Conference, beginning with TYLA President Natalie Koehler’s vision for TYLA in the coming year. Participants enjoyed a taste of this year’s projects that will be rolled out by TYLA. The projects include a statewide effort to teach parents and minors of the dangers of underage drinking, as well as a mental health initiative directed toward our colleagues in need of mental help and assistance. TYLA then led a series of breakout sessions geared toward the development and sharing of ideas between all local affiliates, such as what projects within their affiliates have been successful, ways to increase participation in their local affiliates, and ideas for future projects and initiatives to fulfill the needs within our Bar and communities.

TYLA also presented its end of the year awards and recognized the local affiliates who surpassed expectations and committed themselves to bettering their communities and local bar associations. For their commitment to the constant development of new ideas and projects within their region, the Dallas Association of Young Lawyers won first place in the overall comprehensive category. The Houston Young Lawyer Association’s Teen Summer Law Program won the award for best project. Other local affiliates that were recognized for their successful projects were: Austin Young Lawyers Association, San Antonio Young Lawyers Association, Texarkana Young Lawyers Association, Collin County Young Lawyers Association, Cameron County Young Lawyers Association, and Amarillo Area Young Lawyers Association.